2015 Recipient: Markese Hargrove

Presented by Bright House Sports Network

Plant City’s Markese Hargrove wins first Bill Minahan Award

By Katherine Smith, Bright House Sports Network

TAMPA — Markese Hargrove heard all of the stories Monday night. Sitting in a grand room at the Columbia Restaurant, he was amazed by all of the Bill Minahan Award finalists inspirational stories. He was even more amazed when he was announced the winner. Hargrove was crowned the inaugural winner of the award named for the late Jesuit High School athletic director/coach. Nominated by his head coach Wayne Ward, Hargrove was presented with a plaque and Plant City received the trophy that will reside at the school for one year. In all, 15 players were nominated by coaches throughout Hillsborough County. That list was narrowed down to five finalists that included Hargrove, Jefferson’s Ernest Mills, Robinson’s Andrew Moss, Steinbrenner’s Phillip Smith and Strawberry Crest’s Darius Williams. Each of the players received a $1,500 scholarship. Bright House Sports Network will air a special 30-minute show with highlights from the ceremony. Check back for dates and times.